Koninkryk van die Dwase – November 2015

Jesus came to turn the world upside down, “For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight” (1Cor3:19). Even as Christians, we have so many thoughts and ideas that God wants to turn on their heads! There are so many ways that we inadvertently put God in box, and attempt to conform our faith to the world – instead of the other way around. At times I find myself in a confrontation with the Holy Spirit, only to find I have been doubting the power of God based on my own limitations! God is teaching me to be more and more reliant on Him instead of my own wisdom.

One week, as I sat down to brainstorm and pray about the week’s classes, I got a really strong impression not to prepare for the lesson I was to lead on Friday. Obviously I was a bit confused, but obeyed and did nothing. The morning I was to present, I woke up, and it felt like God was busy uploading the lesson into my head. It wasn’t a lesson packed with mind-blowing revelation. Not anything flashy or loud, not even anything exceptionally challenging; but less than 4 hours later, 12 men behind bars gave their hearts to God!

God has shown me that things are often not as they first appear. People cannot be judged by their greatest strength or their weakness. The sum of a person’s life is not evaluated by their mistakes or even their successes. In trying to save ourselves, we will lose; and when we lay down our lives, He lifts us up. I knew this before, but experiencing it is wholly different.

I stood praying with a man one day; M.F, you may remember him from a previous newsletter. And as we prayed I felt my entire body burn hot – but not in a painful way. We pressed further in prayer, and for the first time in his life he received an impartation of the Holy Spirit! The seal and guarantee of his inheritance in Christ! (Eph 1:13-14)

What grace! And what a contradiction to human hierarchy, that God sends His Holy Spirit behind bars so that a man in orange would have no words to describe the joy and comfort of being touched and loved by the King of Kings!

Another reminder that it is God and God alone who accomplishes the victory. It is for Him, and only through Him that anything is accomplished. DANKIE HEER!! (Praise The Lord!!)

Koninkryk van die Dwase (Afrikaans) – Kingdom of the Fools
Leave a Reply

